onemillionswings

Continuing Basic Techniques

In Uncategorized on August 15, 2012 at 10:15 am

So I’m really working on my fundamentals this week to improve and consolidate the gains I’ve made in my swing. One thing I like to get back to is my slow motion swing and my own personal list of things or points that I’ve made for it. On my backswing two important things for me is to purposefully start to bend my forward knee while keeping the rest of my lower body quiet (not just letting it bend with the turn, but allowing the turn by bending it first), and a nice controlled one piece takeaway where my arms and torso move as one.

I still really need to do more video and slow motion work on my downswing because I struggle with inconsistent form there. I haven’t done nearly the same amount of form practice (slow-motion mirror work and that sort of thing) on my downswing and so my hips and forearms don’t always do what they’re supposed to do. But this week I’m going to be doing lots of repetitions, focusing a lot on form, and getting that worked out to the same level as my backswing.

So I hope that I continue to improve and I’ll keep posting on my continued progress with that this week.

Leave a Reply

