onemillionswings

Next Articles

In Uncategorized on August 16, 2012 at 4:58 pm

I’ve really had a breakthrough on my swing here this week, I suddenly grasp turning my wrists over at the point of impact in an intuitive fashion that I just didn’t have before. I can really feel the correct positioning in my forearms and my shoulders now and have eliminated that unhelpful tendency of sliding my upper body forward after I pop my hips and initiate my downswing. I look forward to finally getting through a bucket of balls without lobbing a few dangerously off to the right because I left the clubface open and hacked the ball like I was holding an axe.

I’ve been using an iPhone app to record my swings and watch them in slo-mo on my computer. It’s helpful to record yourself so you can really study your swing when you’re focused on hitting and not watching yourself in a mirror. Anyway they host all your videos on their website where you go watch them, although when I went there for some reason they had me on the mainpage under “recently added” videos, with like five of the swings I just took. Which is unnecessary social embarrassment. At least my form is sound.
I need to get back to improving this blog before people actually start finding it, meaning I need more articles and a better navigation bar. I don’t feel like working on the nav bar, but I am very interested in doing more articles. Preferably three more this month: one on putting, one on bringing your practice swing to the ball, and one clarifying video work more. Actually on bringing your practice swing to your actual ball striking, I hate that term “practice swing.” I know it sounds like a motivational speaker talking, but it’s when you’re holding a real golf club and performing your real swing, don’t call it a practice swing, it isn’t. It’s your real swing, the exact same one you will perform when you have a ball in front of yourself. When I use a practice club that doesn’t have a real head on it just to do fast form work, those are practice swings. Anytime you swing a real club, that’s a real swing.

Well that’s it for now,

Leave a Reply

